Skip to main content


We hold ourselves accountable to you and to our Board.

United Way’s Board of Directors is a distinguished group of leaders whose strategic decision-making and guidance steer the organization. We recruit people and organizations from all across the community who bring the passion, expertise, and resources needed to get things done and that fact is reflected in the make-up of the board.

The commitment of United Way board members is not only evident in the time they contribute as volunteers, but by the fact that each board member donates generously to support our work.



James Sears
Board Chair / Executive Committee Chair  
President, Maryland Operations, Potomac Edison - FirstEnergy Corp.
Danny Vasquez
Board Vice-Chair
Roger Stenersen
Immediate Past Chair
Visiting Instructor of Education / Director of the Educational Leadership Program, Hood College
Justin Cordelli
Resource Development Committee Co-Chair
Insurance Professional, BluePoint Financial LLC.
Mary Ellis
Governance Committee Co-Chair
Martha Gurzick
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Frederick Memorial Hospital
Jim Racheff
Board Chair Emeritus
Chairman and CEO, DMS Inc.
Joy Schaefer
Community Impact Committee Chair


Sarah D. Cline
Keith Harris
Executive Director of the Department of Accelerated Achievement and Equity, Frederick County Public Schools
Sharon D. Jacko
Jay Mason
Robin McConaughy
Kelley Murphy
Katie Nash 
Jennifer Orndorff 
Commercial Credit Underwriter, BB&T Bank
Austin L. Pearre
VP, Business Banking Relationship Manager, M&T Bank
Mickey Prospt
Cash Management Advisor, My Bank – First United Bank & Trust
Kate Surdez
Global HR Business Partner, AstraZeneca
Roger Wilson
Government Affairs and Policy Director, Frederick County Maryland, Office of the County Executive